FIBA Basketball World Cup MVPs: Dennis Schroder joins full list including Kyrie Irving, Ricky Rubio

After more than two weeks of play, the 2023 FIBA Basketball World Cup has come to a close.

32 countries entered the tournament, and Germany emerged as the champion by winning its first-ever gold. Some of the best players in the world went head-to-head with a chance to win the Naismith Trophy.

While the tournament MVP award usually goes to a player from the team that wins it all, that hasn’t always been the case at the FIBA World Cup.

After leading Germany to a championship, Dennis Schröder has been crowned MVP in 2023. Who were the players to win the award before him?

MORE: Which basketball teams have qualified for Paris 2024 Olympics?

Complete list of FIBA Basketball World Cup MVPs

Schröder most recently received the FIBA World Cup MVP after Germany’s win over Serbia to win gold in 2023. Ricky Rubio, Kyrie Irving and Kevin Durant were the previous winners.

Rubio’s crown came in 2019 while Irving and Durant earned the honors after leading USA to a gold medal in back-to-back FIBA World Cups in 2014 and 2010, respectively.

Of the 19 FIBA World Cup MVPs awarded, only six players did not lead their country to a gold medal. Dirk Nowitzki was the last MVP not to win gold, earning a bronze medal for Germany in 2002.

Drazen Petrovic (Yugoslavia), Doc Rivers (USA), Dragan Kicanovic (Yugoslavia), Sergei Belov (Soviet Union) and Ivo Daneu (Yugoslavia) are the only other players to be named MVP without leading their country to a gold medal. No player has ever repeated as FIBA World Cup MVP.

You can find the complete list of FIBA World Cup MVPs below.

Year Player Country
2023 Dennis Schröder Germany
2019 Ricky Rubio Spain
2014 Kyrie Irving USA
2010 Kevin Durant USA
2006 Pau Gasol Spain
2002 Dirk Nowitzki Germany
1998 Dejan Bodiroga Yugoslavia
1994 Shaquille O’Neal USA
1990 Toni Kukoc Yugoslavia
1986 Drazen Petrovic Yugoslavia
1982 Doc Rivers USA
1978 Drazen Dalipagic Yugoslavia
1974 Dragan Kicanovic Yugoslavia
1970 Sergei Belov Soviet Union
1967 Ivo Daneu Yugoslavia
1963 Wlamir Marques Brazil
1959 Amaury Pasos Brazil
1954 Kirby Minter USA
1950 Oscar Furlong Argentina

Share with your friends!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Get The Latest Sports News
Straight to your inbox

Subscribe to our mailing list and get interesting stuff and updates to your email inbox.

Thank you for subscribing.

Something went wrong.