NASCAR All-Star format, explained: How rules, stages will work for 2024 North Wilkesboro race & All-Star Open

The NASCAR All-Star weekend returns to North Wilkesboro, NC for the second straight year, but this season, drivers have already encountered a few problems.

Poor weather has resulted in postponements and cancellations on Friday and Saturday, though the schedule is expected to be uninterrupted on Sunday. Friday’s All-Star Pit Crew Challenge was moved to Saturday, and Saturday’s Heat 1 and 2 All-Star Races were canceled entirely.

Of course, the circumstances aren’t ideal, but the NASCAR rule book allows for the main events on Sunday to still play out based on previous qualifiers.

The Sporting News breaks down those qualifiers and the schedule for the 2024 NASCAR All-Star weekend.

MORE: How much will the winning driver make at NASCAR’s All-Star race?

NASCAR All-Star Race format 2024


Typically, there’s a qualifier for both the All-Star Race and the All-Star Open, but NASCAR made changes due to severe weather.

The two All-Star Heats are the qualifiers for the All-Star Race, but since that was canceled, the starting lineup was based on the qualifying results from the Pit Crew Challenge.

The All-Star Open’s lineup was set based on the owner’s points since that qualifying race was canceled on Friday.

Both main events are still on for Sunday, May 19.

Pit Crew Challenge

The Pit Crew Challenge had more importance this year due to the rainouts. It served as the qualifier for the All-Star Race.

The challenge times the fastest four-tire pit stop, and the pit crew for Christopher Bell’s Toyota won the competition. This is the same crew that won last year’s challenge but was serving on Ty Gibbs’ team in 2023.

They posted a 13.223 stop time.

All-Star Open

The All-Star Open is the first of the two main events at NASCAR’s All-Star weekend.

It’s a 100-lap race lasting 62.5 miles. Ty Gibbs owns the first spot in this year’s race.

All-Star Race

The All-Star Race caps off the night in North Wilkesboro with another 100-lap, 62.5-mile race. Joey Logano has the first spot in this race that begins at 8 p.m. ET on Sunday.

All-Star Race starting lineup

Pos. Driver Car No. Team
1 Joey Logano 22 Team Penske
2 Brad Keselowski 6 RFK Racing
3 Christopher Bell 20 Joe Gibbs Racing
4 Daniel Suarez 99 Trackhouse Racing
5 Chris Buescher 17 RFK Racing
6 Tyler Reddick 45 23XI Racing
7 Ross Chastain 1 Trackhouse Racing
8 Martin Truex Jr. 19 Joe Gibbs Racing
9 Michael McDowell 34 Front Row Motorsports
10 AJ Allmendinger 16 Kaulig Racing
11 Denny Hamlin 11 Joe Gibbs Racing
12 Kyle Larson 5 Hendrick Motorsports
13 William Byron 24 Hendrick Motorsports
14 Kyle Busch 8 Richard Childress Racing
15 Chase Elliot 9 Hendrick Motorsports
16 Ricky Stenhouse Jr. 47 JTG Daugherty Racing
17 Ryan Blaney 12 Team Penske

All-Star Open starting lineup

Pos. Driver Car No.
1 Ty Gibbs 54
2 Alex Bowman 48
3 Chase Briscoe 14
4 Bubba Wallace 23
5 Noah Gragson 10
6 Austin Cindric 2
7 Josh Berry 4
8 Todd Gilliland 38
9 John Hunter Nemechek 42
10 Carson Hocevar 77
11 Erik Jones 43
12 Ryan Preece 41
13 Corey LaJoie 7
14 Daniel Hemric 31
15 Austin Dillon 3
16 Justin Haley 51
17 Harrison Burton 21
18 Kaz Grala 15
19 Zane Smith 71
20 Timmy Hill 66
Share with your friends!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Get The Latest Sports News
Straight to your inbox

Subscribe to our mailing list and get interesting stuff and updates to your email inbox.

Thank you for subscribing.

Something went wrong.