NASCAR lineup at Las Vegas: Starting order, pole for 2023 Cup Series race based on qualifying results

The penultimate round of the 2023 NASCAR Cup Series Playoffs gets underway on Sunday.

Ross Chastain, Bubba Wallace, Brad Keselowski and Kyle Busch were each eliminated from the playoffs heading into this round, leaving just William Byron, Martin Truex Jr., Denny Hamlin, Kyle Larson, Chris Buescher, Christopher Bell, Tyler Reddick and Ryan Blaney still alive competing for a championship.

Several of these drivers know what it takes to win in Las Vegas in the South Point 400. Truex won the second edition of the race back in 2019, and Hamlin took home first back in 2021.

But while those two know what it’s like to win, both will be starting further back in the field — at least to start the race. Each of the four top spots in the lineup are occupied by playoff drivers. And the man sitting atop the totem pole ahead of Sunday’s race has proven difficult to unseat once he gets some clear air in front of him.

MORE: Watch South Point 400 live with Fubo (free trial)

Here’s how the drivers are set to start the South Point 400 race on Sunday.

Who won the pole for the South Point 400 in 2023?

Christopher Bell secured the pole for Sunday’s race. He posted the top speed in the field at 186.355 mph, and finished with a lap time of 28.980.

Bell has been on a roll lately, having secured the pole in four of the past seven races. He has finished 23rd, eighth and third in the previous three times he won the pole.

“I was running flatline and never lifted all the way around; he didn’t hit [Kyle Larson] either. So comes down horsepower, I guess,” Bell said, per NASCAR. “It’s going to be about who can keep the most in their car and move around and find [grip] on the race track. … Las Vegas is a fun race track because you can pretty much run from the wall to the white line and everywhere in between. If you’re faster than a guy you can make your way to the front and if you struggle you can move around it helps you out.”

NASCAR at Las Vegas starting lineup 2023

Bell will lead the field to green, with Larson joining him on the top line. Here’s how the rest of the starting lineup will shake up on Sunday.

Starting pos. Driver Car No. Team
1 Christopher Bell 20 Joe Gibbs Racing
2 Kyle Larson 5 Hendrick Motorsports
3 William Byron 24 Hendrick Motorsports
4 Martin Truex Jr. 19 Joe Gibbs Racing
5 Chris Buescher 17 RFK Racing
6 Kyle Busch 8 Richard Childress Racing
7 Bubba Wallace 23 23XI Racing
8 Tyler Reddick 45 23XI Racing
9 Joey Logano 22 Team Penske
10 Ross Chastain 1 Trackhouse Racing
11 Ty Gibbs 54 Joe Gibbs Racing
12 Ryan Blaney 12 Team Penske
13 Aric Almirola 10 Stewart-Haas Racing
14 Alex Bowman 48 Hendrick Motorsports
15 Denny Hamlin 11 Joe Gibbs Racing
16 Austin Dillon 3 Richard Childress Racing
17 Chase Briscoe 14 Stewart-Haas Racing
18 Michael McDowell 34 Front Row Motorsports
19 Austin Cindric 2 Team Penske
20 Justin Haley 31 Kaulig Racing
21 Brad Keselowski 6 RFK Racing
22 AJ Allmendinger 16 Kaulig Racing
23 Erik Jones 43 Legacy Motor Club
24 Kevin Harvick 4 Stewart-Haas Racing
25 Carson Hocevar 42 Legacy Motor Club
26 JJ Yeley 51 Rick Ware Racing
27 Ty Dillon 77 Spire Motorsports
28 Corey LaJoie 7 Spire Motorsports
29 Todd Gilliland 38 Front Row Motorsports
30 Ricky Stenhouse Jr. 47 JTG Daugherty Racing
31 BJ McLeod 78 Live Fast Motorsports
32 Ryan Preece 41 Stewart-Haas Racing
33 Harrison Burton 21 Wood Brothers Racing
34 Brennan Poole 15 Rick Ware Racing
35 Chase Elliott 9 Hendrick Motorsports
36 Daniel Suarez 99 Trackhouse Racing

Share with your friends!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Get The Latest Sports News
Straight to your inbox

Subscribe to our mailing list and get interesting stuff and updates to your email inbox.

Thank you for subscribing.

Something went wrong.

x  Powerful Protection for WordPress, from Shield Security
This Site Is Protected By
Shield Security