NASCAR lineup at Texas: Starting order, pole for 2023 Cup Series race based on qualifying results

Texas Motor Speedway is a minefield.

The Great American Speedway can prove a harrowing sight to Cup Series stars. Its menacing turns and jaundiced surface envelop the locale in a haze of uncertainty.

And it’s in that environment that NASCAR thrives, particularly during the postseason, when every tire failure could be the disaster that sends one home fishing for the winter.

Martin Truex Jr. finds himself in a charmed position after eking his way out of the Round of 16. The regular-season champion was on the cusp of infamy, entering last Saturday’s race at Bristol below the cut line. One Joey Logano wreck later and the Joe Gibbs Racing star was in the next round. Now, he’s back at the top of the ladder, sitting pretty alongside William Byron with an additional 25 playoff points.

If Truex can find a rhythm, he can be dangerous. Given his struggles in the first round of the playoffs, however, that is a big if.

MORE: Watch the AutoTrader EchoPark Automotive 400 live with Fubo (free trial)

With that, here’s what you need to know about the starting lineup for Sunday’s race at Texas.

Who won the pole for Texas in 2023?

Bubba Wallace took the pole for Sunday’s race, blazing past the rest of the field with the fastest lap time in qualifying. He outpaced Chris Buescher, who will join him in the front row. It’s the second career pole and first of the season for Wallace.

NASCAR at Texas starting lineup 2023

Leading the field for Sunday night’s race are playoff drivers Bubba Wallace and Chris Buescher. Below is the rest of the starting lineup for the race:

Starting pos. Driver Car No. Team
1 Bubba Wallace (P) 23 23XI Racing
2 Chris Buescher (P) 17 Roush Fenway Keselowski Racing
3 Brad Keselowski (P) 6 Roush Fenway Keselowski Racing
4 Ty Gibbs 54 Joe Gibbs Racing
5 Ross Chastain (P) 1 Trackhouse Racing
6 A.J. Allmendinger 16 Kaulig Racing
7 Kyle Busch (P) 8 Richard Childress Racing
8 Daniel Suarez 99 Trackhouse Racing
9 Christopher Bell (P) 20 Joe Gibbs Racing
10 Denny Hamlin (P) 11 Joe Gibbs Racing
11 Kyle Larson (P) 5 Hendrick Motorsports
12 Erik Jones 43 Legacy Motor Club
13 Austin Dillon 3 Richard Childress Racing
14 Alex Bowman 48 Hendrick Motorsports
15 Tyler Reddick (P) 45 23XI Racing
16 Martin Truex Jr. (P) 19 Joe Gibbs Racing
17 Michael McDowell 34 Front Row Motorsports
18 William Byron (P) 24 Hendrick Motorsports
19 Carson Hocevar 42 Legacy Motor Club
20 Joey Logano 22 Team Penske
21 Aric Almirola 10 Stewart-Haas Racing
22 Kevin Harvick 4 Stewart-Haas Racing
23 Ryan Blaney (P) 12 Team Penske
24 Ricky Stenhouse Jr. 47 JTG Daugherty Racing
25 Ryan Preece 41 Stewart-Haas Racing
26 Ty Dillon 77 Spire Motorsports
27 Corey LaJoie 7 Spire Motorsports
28 Justin Haley 16 Kaulig Racing
29 Chase Elliott 9 Hendrick Motorsports
30 Harrison Burton 21 Wood Brothers Racing
31 Chase Briscoe 14 Stewart-Haas Racing
32 Austin Cindric 2 Team Penske
33 Zane Smith 38 Front Row Motorsports
34 B.J. McLeod 78 Live Fast Motorsports
35 J.J. Yeley 51 Rick Ware Racing
36 Todd Gilliland 38 Front Row Motorsports

(P) = Playoff driver 

Share with your friends!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Get The Latest Sports News
Straight to your inbox

Subscribe to our mailing list and get interesting stuff and updates to your email inbox.

Thank you for subscribing.

Something went wrong.