NASCAR lineup at Watkins Glen: Starting order, pole for Go Bowling at the Glen based on qualifying results

Bowling for playoff points.

The penultimate race of the Cup Series season takes drivers to Watkins Glen for yet another road course. And it figures to be among the most dramatic of the year, with a bevy of drivers competing to secure their spot in the playoffs.

LIVE: NASCAR at Watkins Glen race updates, highlights

Things are tight as ever at the bottom, with Bubba Wallace clinging to playoff qualification, 28 points over the drop. He’s never been the strongest competitor amid the curls — he’s only snagged one top-five finish on the apparatus during his career. How sweet would it be for him to impress when the pressure is tightest and put together a decent showing at The Glen?

MORE: Watch the Bowling at the Glen live with Fubo (free trial)

With that, here’s what you need to know about the starting lineup and pole-sitter for the Verizon 200 at the Brickyard.

Who won the pole for Watkins Glen in 2023?

Denny Hamlin took the pole for Sunday’s race as he posted the fastest lap time in qualifying. He outpaced William Byron, who will join him in the front row. It’s the 40th career pole and third of the season for Hamlin.

MORE: Updated points, scenarios as drivers chase Cup Series championship

NASCAR at Watkins Glen starting lineup 2023

Leading the field for Sunday’s race are Hamlin and Byron. Fresh off his win at the Brickyard, Michael McDowell will be right behind Hamlin after qualifying third on Saturday.

Starting pos. Driver Car No. Team
1 Denny Hamlin 11 Joe Gibbs Racing
2 William Byron 24 Hendrick Motorsports
3 Michael McDowell 34 Live Fast Motorsports
4 Ty Gibbs 54 Joe Gibbs Racing
5 Kyle Larson 5 Hendrick Motorsports
6 A.J. Allmendinger 16 Kaulig Racing
7 Christopher Bell 20 Joe Gibbs Racing
8 Tyler Reddick 45 23XI Racing
9 Kyle Busch 8 Richard Childress Racing
10 Corey LaJoie 7 Spire Motorsports
11 Joey Logano 22 Team Penske
12 Bubba Wallace 23 23XI Racing
13 Chris Buescher 17 Roush Fenway Keselowski Racing
14 Daniel Suarez 99 Trackhouse Racing
15 Chase Elliott 9 Hendrick Motorsports
16 Austin Dillon 3 Richard Childress Racing
17 Austin Cindric 2 Team Penske
18 Alex Bowman 48 Hendrick Motorsports
19 Martin Truex Jr. 19 Joe Gibbs Racing
20 Justin Haley 31 Kaulig Racing
21 Mike Rockenfeller 42 Legacy Motor Club
22 Ross Chastain 1 Trackhouse Racing
23 Ryan Blaney 12 Team Penske
24 Brad Keselowski 6 Roush Fenway Keselowski Racing
25 Todd Gilliland 38 Front Row Motorsports
26 Chase Briscoe 14 Stewart-Haas Racing
27 Aric Almirola 10 Stewart-Haas Racing
28 Ricky Stenhouse Jr. 47 JTG-Daugherty Racing
29 Andy Lally 15 Rick Ware Racing
30 Ryan Preece 41 Stewart-Haas Racing
31 Erik Jones 43 Legacy Motor Club
32 Harrison Burton 21 Wood Brothers Racing
33 Kevin Harvick 4 Stewart-Haas Racing
34 Cole Custer 51 Rick Ware Racing
35 Josh Bilicki 78 Live Fast Racing
36 Ty Dillon 77 Spire Motorsports

Share with your friends!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Get The Latest Sports News
Straight to your inbox

Subscribe to our mailing list and get interesting stuff and updates to your email inbox.

Thank you for subscribing.

Something went wrong.