Was it a low blow? Oleksandr Usyk vs. Daniel Dubois fallout on the latest Fightin’ Words

Before they faced off, boxing fans predicted Oleksandr Usyk would easily beat Daniel Dubois to retain his status as the unified heavyweight champion. While he did win via ninth-round knockout, fans didn’t expect the controversy surrounding the victory. 

Almost a week after the fight, everyone is talking about waistlines and what makes or breaks calling a shot a low blow. 

In the fifth round, Dubois landed a shot that was called a low blow. The blow was right by the belt line, but it was up to the referee’s discretion and the rules he outlined to determine what makes a low blow. For Usyk, this might be a blessing in disguise. For months, all fans could talk about is Tyson Fury, the WBC heavyweight champion. A wise man said controversy creates cash, and people are now talking about the Ukrainian. 

Was it a low hit, or were Usyk’s shorts too high? Is there a way to fix the rules so we don’t have to look into the millimeters surrounding a boxer’s waist and shorts? Like an umpire in baseball, what ultimately determines strike zone location? 

On this episode of Fightin’ Words, The Sporting News’ Andreas HaleKarisa Maxwell, and Tom Gray attempt to determine what is a low blow and also discuss the following topics: 

  • Debating if there should be a rematch between Usyk and Dubois
  • Wondering about Dubois’ chances against Usyk in a potential rematch
  • If no rematch, looking into Usyk and Dubois’ future
  • Predicting the winner of Liam Smith vs. Chris Eubank Jr. 2

MORE from The Sporting News:

Share with your friends!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Get The Latest Sports News
Straight to your inbox

Subscribe to our mailing list and get interesting stuff and updates to your email inbox.

Thank you for subscribing.

Something went wrong.