Football

Where is 2024 Europa League final? Venue for European final this season

Liverpool are among the favourites to reach the 2024 Europa League final following the group stage draw on September 1.

Jurgen Klopp’s side missed out on Champions League qualification last season, finishing fifth in the Premier League, and have been paired with LASK, Union Saint-Gilloise and Toulouse in the round-robin stage of Europe’s second-tier competition.

Last season’s beaten finalists Roma, boosted by the recent loan signing of Romelu Lukaku from Chelsea, will take on Slavia Prague, Sheriff Tiraspol, Servette, while Europa Conference League winners West Ham face Olympiacos, Freiburg, TSC Bracka Topola.

Premier League counterparts Brighton & Hove Albion will make their Europa League debut after being handed a mouthwatering draw against Marseille, Ajax and AEK Athens.  

The Sporting News looks ahead to the confirmed details of the 2024 Europa League final.

MORE: How many Premier League teams qualified for Europe?

Where is 2024 Europa League final?

The 2024 Europa League final is set to take place at Aviva Stadium in Dublin, Republic of Ireland. The stadium is primarily used by the Republic of Ireland football team and the Irish rugby union team. 

The UEFA Executive Committee came to this decision due to complications during UEFA Euro 2020, caused by COVID-19. The stadium in Dublin was set to be a host for the international tournament, but withdrew due to the pandemic.

In a settlement agreement with UEFA, it was agreed that Aviva Stadium would host the 2024 Europa League final due to recognition for their efforts and financial investment made to host the Euros. 

It previously hosted the final in 2011, when Porto beat Portuguese counterparts Braga 1-0 thanks to a Radamel Falcao goal. 

When is 2024 Europa League final?

The 2023 UEFA Europa League final will take place on Wednesday, May 22, 2024 at 8 p.m. local time in Dublin, Republic of Ireland.

Here is how that translates to other regions around the world:

Region Date Time
USA Wednesday, May 22 3 p.m. ET
UK Wednesday, May 22 8 p.m. BST
Australia Thursday, May 23 5 a.m. AEST
Canada Wednesday, May 22 3 p.m. ET
India Thursday, May 23 12:30 a.m. IST
Hong Kong Thursday, May 23 3 a.m. HKT
Malaysia Thursday, May 23 3 a.m. MYT
New Zealand Thursday, May 23 7 a.m. NZST
Singapore Thursday, May 23 3 a.m. SGT

Europa League final venues

Here are the previous hosts of the Europa League/UEFA Cup finals since the turn of the century:

Year Venue Country
2000 Parken Stadium Denmark
2001 Westfalenstadion Germany
2002 De Kuip Netherlands
2003 Estadio Olimpico de Sevilla Spain
2004 Nya Ullevi Sweden
2005 Estadio Jose Alvalade Portugal
2006 PSV Stadion Netherlands
2007 Hampden Park Scotland
2008 Etihad Stadium England
2009 Sukru Saracoglu Stadium Turkey
2010 Volksparkstadion Germany
2011 Aviva Stadium Republic of Ireland
2012 Arena Nationala Romania
2013 Amsterdam Arena Netherlands
2014 Juventus Stadium Italy
2015 Stadion Narodowy Poland
2016 St Jakob-Park Switzerland
2017 Friends Arena Sweden
2018 Parc Olympic Lyonnais France
2019 Olympic Stadium Azerbaijan
2020 Rhein Energie Stadion Germany
2021 Stadion Gdansk Poland
2022 Ramon Sanchez Pizjuan Spain
2023 Puskas Arena Hungary

Share with your friends!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Get The Latest Sports News
Straight to your inbox

Subscribe to our mailing list and get interesting stuff and updates to your email inbox.

Thank you for subscribing.

Something went wrong.